I love movies. I really do. But I just went through a list of all the Best Picture Academy Award winners, and I’m appalled at how few I’ve seen. So I’m wondering whether I should make seeing the rest of them the beginning of a Bucket List.

The Broadway Melody Of 1929: I’m pretty sure I’ve seen this on TV.

Grand Hotel: I’ve definitely seen this on TV.

It Happened One Night: I’ve seen bits of this so many times, but have I ever seen it start to finish? I don’t think so.

Mutiny On The Bounty: I’ve seen this on TV.

Gone With The Wind: Have seen this on TV. May have seen it on the big screen in a revival many years ago. Answer hazy; try again later.

Rebecca: I’ve seen this many times on TV. Love it.

How Green Was My Valley: I saw this many years ago on TV, probably with commercials and maybe cut. Should see.

Casablanca: I’ve seen this on the big screen in a revival. I’m not as big a fan as a lot of people are.

Going My Way: Have seen on TV.

The Best Years Of Our Lives: I have tried to watch this, on TV, more than once. I can’t; it’s too depressing.

Hamlet: Have seen, I think in a college class.

An American In Paris: Have seen on TV.

The Greatest Show On Earth: Saw it on the big screen when it was released.

From Here To Eternity: Have seen on TV.

Around The World In 80 Days: Saw on the big screen when it was released.

Ben-Hur: Saw it on the big screen when it was released.

West Side Story: I don’t think I saw this when it was released, but maybe I did. I have seen bits of it so many times, I can’t be sure whether I have seen the whole thing.

Lawrence Of Arabia: Saw it on the big screen when it was released. Thought it would never end.

Tom Jones: Saw it on the big screen when it was released. Wonderfully naughty for a young Catholic girl.

My Fair Lady: Have seen on TV.

The Sound Of Music: Saw on the big screen when it was released.

A Man For All Seasons: Saw on the big screen when it was released, and on video numerous times since. One of my favorite films.

Saw all these on the big screen when they were released–

Midnight Cowboy

The French Connection

The Godfather

The Sting

Rocky

Annie Hall: I see what’s good about it, but I don’t like it because I so dislike the character of Annie Hall.

Amadeus

Out Of Africa: Love the sound track.

Titanic

Gladiator

A Beautiful Mind

The Lord Of The Rings: The Return Of The King: Another one I thought would never end.

The Departed

No Country For Old Men

When I look at how many war movies are on the Best Picture list, I rethink the Bucket List thing, because I don’t like war movies and for many years have not watched them.

